Nice melons

7 09 2011

Your challenge today, should you choose to accept it, is to carry the entire contents of the CSA box, including 2 small melons and lots of very squishable tomatoes, home via bicycle.

Ta-da!

I fit most of it delicately in my backpack but I had to carry the watermelon under my arm. Tricky.

Today we have a watermelon, what appears to be a cantaloupe/muskmelon but I couldn’t identify it here, tomatillos, basil, chives, potatoes, zucchini, big beautiful bell peppers, and so many tomatoes that I decided you should hear what varietals we received: purple calabash, piriform, red and black brandywine, lemon boy, and loads of cherry tomatoes (see the sungolds in there? mmmmm…..).

And in what may be a regular bit, a brief list of what we did with the CSA from 2 weeks ago:

  • ratatouille w/ poached eggs
  • veggie soup w/ garbanzo beans (peppers, tomatoes, basil, zucchini, potatoes)
  • the peppers went in lots of salads, thinly sliced
  • apples w/ cheese
  • sliced tomatoes with mozzarella and basil
  • omelets
  • egg scrambles with potatoes and cheese
  • potato pancakes
  • tomato martinis
Actions

Information

3 responses

7 09 2011
Alison

You need to put a basket on your bike! It’ll be so cute and hipster 😛

8 09 2011
erlthegirl

I do actually need to put a basket on my bike but the one I purchased to put on the back (not a hipster) doesn’t actually fit so I need a new one and just haven’t bit the bullet to make that happen.

12 09 2011
ALH

Heh heh heh. Melons.

Leave a Reply

