Retreat

5 04 2011

It’s the time of year that I do a lot of introspection. Where am I in life? What have I accomplished and what’s left to be done?

I always count my friends and family among my successes. And this year, I’m hard pressed to find anything wrong with life. Other than my inability to win the lottery. It’s been a wonderful departure from the anxiety and self doubt I usually heap on myself the month before my birthday.

In that space, I’ve been enjoying the beginning of spring. The flowers in my garden and the sunshine on my back while I am weeding. Riding my new bike to work. I’ve started 2 new crafty projects just for me (a crocheted shrug & a quilt for our bed), and I’ve been totally sucked into a book trilogy for the first time in what feels like years. Staying up late, bringing the books with me everywhere for that random spare minute. It’s been super fun.

The shrug I’ve been working on is this but in a dark plum:

Even if I can’t wear it out of the house I’m excited about snuggling up in it with a good book.

And the trilogy I am reading is the Fitzwilliam Darcy Trilogy, by Pamela Aiden. Loving it.

I had never read a Jane Austen novel before so I first read Pride & Prejudice. I liked it, although I don’t know if I would have, had I not seen (and been semi-obsessed with) the BBC series staring Colin Firth and the lovely Jennifer Ehle. We’ll see if I’m inspired to read more of her work…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

