Why HR is grumpy in February

11 02 2011

As most of you know, my day job is as an HR lady for an awesome nonprofit media org. My team rocks, I have the best boss ever, and I love what I do, but every once in a while I just can’t help but want to punch people in the face.

Every February (and again on April 15th), right after all the W-2s go out, I start getting emails and phone calls from people that, despite my numerous warnings, did not keep me posted on their address changes. And don’t have mail forwarding? I don’t know. Anyway. These people contact me because they never receive their W-2 for the previous year (or because they accidentally recycled it – not kidding). And they want a copy.  No problem, except that I don’t actually get a version like the one that is mailed out. And it takes a little time to access the payroll tax files and scan the version I have and email it to them, (vs. mail it, which I could do, which would take longer). And no, I can’t update the address on it. Or change your name. Or have a new original sent to you. But I’ll get you what you need to do your taxes.

It doesn’t irritate me nearly as much as it does other co-workers, but I am busy and actually doing lots of other work in the beginning of the year. So it takes a minute.

So when I get 3 emails from someone in the span of 24 hours asking “Would it be possible to send that scan along?”, I’m going to hate you. And, despite my strong customer service leanings, it will be hard for me not to want to ignore you.  Especially when the last email you sent me said “Looks like these are the procedures for a missing one.” (Note the IRS’s instructions include the sentence: allow a reasonable amount of time for them to resend or to issue the W-2.) Uh, fuck you. I’m an HR lady, so it’s my job to know what the procedures are. Also? I am not an idiot.

Your inattention to detail regarding your personal matters does not my emergency make.

Actions

Information

One response

11 02 2011
Alison

OMG I want to know who this was so badly 😛

Leave a Reply

