A wonderful fruit

25 08 2010

Look how gorgeous these are:

Oh, tomatoes.  I remember the first time I ever tasted a tomato and liked it. I had grown up with mealy store bought tomatoes and even though I lived in California, they were not good.  The texture was gross and squishy with a too tight skin (like a plum, but that’s another fruit I take issue with) and no flavor.  And then I had an Early Girl tomato at the farmer’s market in an arugula and corn salad with a basic balsamic vinaigrette. Light bulbs.  Aha! This is why people love raw tomatoes so much (I was already a big fan of tomato sauces). And I ate them on sourdough bread with goat cheese for weeks.

I still really only like late summer tomatoes.

And that’s one of the things I love most about our CSA.  Lots and lots of tomatoes.

And this week: loads of tomatoes, peppers, an eggplant, eggs, plums (bleh), strawberries, zucchini, parsley, onions and cucumber.

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 08 2010
Stephanie

I can totally take those and any other plums you ever come across off your hands…just saying.

26 08 2010
erlthegirl

Those plums are all yours, friend.

28 08 2010
Alison

In-season tomatoes really are a wonder. And that salad sounds great!

Leave a Reply

