CSA Treasure

29 07 2010

It’s getting to be that fabulous time of year when everything in the CSA box is exciting. I did exchange my red chard for a bag of zucchini in the swap bin, but that’s more because I love zucchini and less because I’m not that excited about chard.

  • corn – obviously picked that morning it was soooo deliciously corny
  • eggplant – baba ganoush?
  • eggs
  • fennel
  • lettuce
  • new onions
  • parsley
  • peaches
  • strawberries – eaten before dinner
  • tomatoes
  • zucchini – the light green kind; destined for tea bread and frittata
Actions

Information

3 responses

30 07 2010
ALH

Tell me more about this swap bin.

30 07 2010
erlthegirl

At the CSA pick up point there is a box in which the delivery person leaves one random food item from the week’s surplus. As folks come and pick up their boxes, they can swap any item for the item in the swap box. It should always be a trade; you can’t just take it. Although, and this may not be the point of the swap box but oh well, I occasionally just chuck stuff in there that I don’t want thinking that someone else may be REALLY excited about having more kale.

5 08 2010
ALH

I wish we had that for the weeks where I, too, have way too much kale. I love kale, but there are limits to the amount one can eat.

Leave a Reply

