Lemon aid?

28 05 2009

Help!  I have a counter full of lemons!!

IMG_1984

It’s actually very exciting.  A friend of ours was up in my home town Petaluma at a friends and they had a tree full of lemons they weren’t using.  He asks – how many do you want?  And I say – as many as you want to bring me.  Goodness!

This would be very simple to work through except that I’m going out of town tomorrow for the weekend and won’t be here to make lovely lemon things out of them all.  So far, we’ve made lemon bars and, one of my favorites, limoncello:

  • peel of 8 lemons
  • 750 ml high proof vodka
  • 3 cups simple syrup

Soak the peel and vodka together at room temperature in a covered container for 1 to 2 weeks, the longer the better.  Strain out the peels, filter the vodka through a coffee filter (or 2), combine with the simple syrup, and enjoy!

IMG_1989

Especially tasty when served in a pyrex measuring cup over ice. 🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 05 2009
koala brains

How wonderful to get a bunch of freshly picked lemons! Limoncello – I was in Buenos Aires for biz, 5 weeks pregnant, and had the worst case of morning sickness. Our vendor took us to an amazing lunch but then brought out the limoncello to toast and I didn’t want everyone to know so I put it up to my lips acting like I drank it. Ugh, horrible experience but it sounds delicious now. How about candied lemon peels (think that’s what they are called)?

29 05 2009
koala brains

PS – Know that I was pregnant, that is.

Leave a Reply

