Busy crafting for Christmas

21 12 2008

I’m not a big buyer of gifts in general.  I’ll buy something for someone if I happen upon something that is just perfect, but if not, you’ll probably get something crafted.  Not a bad thing, I must say.

Here is some delicious sugar scrub I made for folks this year; really great for winter skin:

img_1541

I use old jars that I save throughout the year (which reminds me, I should see if my mom will give me some of her stash – the woman has an entire kitchen cabinet bank filled with them!) and the recipe is sort of ad hoc depending on how the consistency is coming together, but it’s basically:

1 cup sugar (divided)

juice of 1 lemon

1 Tbs good olive oil

sprig of rosemary

Combine 1/2 cup of the sugar with the lemon juice and the olive oil and then add in the rest of the sugar until you have a thick-like-peanutbutter goop.  Place the sprig in a jar, spoon in the sugar scrub, and give or enjoy!

I make this for myself occasionally and once tried chopping up the rosemary.  It smelled divine, but the bits of chopped rosemary drove me crazy when they would get all over the tub.

I’ve also been busy practicing my hand sewing and made a bunch of squeaky toys for my little dog friends.  It’s safe to put a pic up since they don’t read my blog:

img_1545

The backstitch, whipstitch, and the blanket stitch and I are now friends.

Actions

Information

One response

23 12 2008
koala brains

I will have to make the sugar scrub for me. Great idea to give as gifts – I will have to do that next year.

Leave a Reply

