Joining Wardrobe Refashion

3 11 2008

I’ve joined Nikki Shell’s Wardrobe Refashion challenge and have pledged not to buy any clothing for November and December.  Having a support group of sorts to start making and/or altering my own clothing is just the push I’ve needed to get back to my sewing and all the projects I have piled up in boxes.

For my first project, I tried my hand at the t-shirt skirt originally made by Swamp Yankees From Outerspace and altered a bit by Darling Petunia.  Starting with 3 t-shirts and ending with a fabulous skirt.

Here are my t-shirts:

I always forget to actually pay attention to my seem allowances and tend to use much smaller ones, having learned to sew primarily through quilting, so I ended up needing to bring the skirt down by about 4 inches after measuring everything else so carefully according to the directions…darn.  To do the correction I just pinched the 2 green pieces in half and sewed a 1/2 inch down the middle and did the same to both gray/black fabric junctions.

I then did a top stitch on either side of the seam connecting the skirt from the waistband.

Having never sewn with knit before I was nervous, but I think it turned out pretty good (definitely a lot better than this photo):

There are a few doggy stomp marks on that photo above.  My dog was so excited about my project that she kept trying to help by laying on my pieces or sitting on my peddle foot.  I must have been delirious after the success of my first t-shirt material refashion because I decided she needed a matching skirt:

She is sooo not happy with me.  Ha!  She wouldn’t even pose and she loves to wear outfits (which I happen to think is really strange for a dog, but put her rain parka on and she just prances around like you wouldn’t believe.)  So sad:

Edited……

Oops!  I forgot to actually make my pledge:  I, Emma/erlthegirl, pledge that I shall abstain from the purchase of “new” manufactured items of clothing (except underwear), for the period of 2 months, even though it is fall when all my favorite colors are in fashion and on sale. I pledge that i shall refashion, renovate, recycle preloved items for myself with my own hands in fabric, yarn or other medium for the term of my contract. I pledge that I will share the love and post a photo of my refashioned, renovoted, recycled, crafted or created item of clothing on the Wardrobe Refashion blog, so that others may share the joy that thy thriftiness brings! Signed Emma.

Actions

Information

One response

17 11 2008
Justin

That dog is a slave to fashion! She loves her skirt, I’m sure it’s just a photo captured at the wrong time.

Leave a Reply

