Apple season!

27 10 2008

I love apples.  The crisp juicy tart ones, especially.

My parents came down for dinner on Saturday and brought with them a box of apples from the tree in their yard – Golden Delicious.  J and I decided pie would be the application of choice.  I know, I know; I’m supposed to use Granny Smiths or some crab type apple.  But I just don’t really like the mouth-feel of a Golden Delicious on its own…and what could be un-delicious about pie?

Not exactly Martha perfect, but it certainly was tasty with a little scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Maybe even better than pie are the fabulous little crackers made from the leftover crust.  I like mine with pepper and salt.

Actions

Information

One response

12 11 2008
Karen J.

Looks like pie to me! Really, who cares what it looks like ~ it’s the taste (and the Smell, Ooh, Ooh, that Smell!) that matters.

Never thought of putting salt-n-pepper on the crustees – we’ve always used cinnamon-sugar. Yumm. Now I must go bake!

Bright Blessings!
Karen J.

Leave a Reply

